NLD-LA to uphold Shwegondaing Declaration

by Kyaw Thein Kha

Thursday, 19 November 2009 13:37

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – At its recently held conference on the Thai-Burma border, the National League for Democracy (Liberated Area) (NLD-LA) adopted a resolution to uphold the Shwegondaing Declaration of its parent organization the NLD.

The newly elected general secretary said that the conference held from November 15 to 17 adopted resolutions on its future plan for the 2010 election and to uphold the Shwegondaing Declaration.

“We will do our best for national reconciliation and dialogue. We discussed how to face the 2010 election in keeping with the stance of the Shwegondaing Declaration,” NLD-LA party General Secretary U Myint Soe told Mizzima.

The Shwegondaing Declaration has called for reviewing and amending the 2008 constitution, releasing all political prisoners including party Chairman U Tin Oo and Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, recognizing the 1990 election results and to engage in dialogue with the opposition.

The conference also discussed how to ‘oppose and fight’ against the election if it is carried out without amending the 2008 constitution. The conference did not extensively discuss the economic sanctions imposed on Burma by western countries, it is learnt.

The conference held once every three years, elected its officer bearers for the next term — U Bo Thaung as Chairman, Dr. Aye Kyaw as Vice-Chairman and new blood in other Executive Committee posts.

U Bo Thaung is MP-elect from Yinmarbin constituency No. 1. He left Burma in 1992. He served as the NLD-LA Central Vice-Chairman, Secretariat member of National Council of Union of Burma (NCUB), Member of the Parliament Union (MPU) and Affair Committee member in the coalition government in exile, NCGUB.

The New Vice-Chairman Dr. Aye Kyaw served as Chairman of NLD-LA (Australia branch), and he was elected for the first time as Vice-Chairman in NLD-LA (Central).

This was their 6th Conference attended by 43 delegates from central and all other branches other than from the Japan and Malaysia branches, pre-occupied as they were with their regional activities.

After the junta refused to transfer power to the election winning party NLD in 1990 election, some party members and elected MPs fled to evade arrest by the junta. They established the NLD-LA (Central) in the Manerplaw headquarters on the Thai-Burma border in 1991. Dr. Sein Win was the first Chairman of NLD-LA.

Currently Dr. Sein Win is the PM of the coalition government in exile.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s