Interview Quintana: Challenging human rights in Burma

Mizzima News by Salomon

The United Nations Human Rights expert Tomas Ojea Quintana, who recently concluded a six-day visit to Burma, said the release of 24 political prisoners along with over 6,000 other prisoners is not enough to dub it as a significant improvement in human rights.

Quintana, who for the second time visited Burma from February 14 to 19, said he did not find improvements in the human rights situation in Burma, and the regime needs to prove its willingness to address the human rights issues by implementing his recommendations.

But Quintana said, he will continue pushing the Burmese military junta in his next trip, probably in early summer this year, to implement his recommendations.

In order to find out more about his recent trip and the situation of human rights assessed by him, Mizzima’s reporter Solomon talks to Quintana in an exclusive interview.

Q:What do you think of the human rights situation in Burma and are you satisfied with your recent trip to Burma?

A: What I can say is that the human rights situation in Myanmar [Burma] has not improved, that is what I said in my first press conference in Yangon [Rangoon]. However, considering the programme, I am satisfied in some points of the programmes, like establishing an understanding with the Chief Justice, during our discussion about the Independent judiciary. He accepted my recommendation.
Q:What was the main objective for this mission and what were you able to achieve?

A: This is my second mission, and as I have requested to the government, it is particularly to assess the human rights situation inside the country. I went to Insein Prison and I spend in Insein, more than 4 hours and 2 hours interviewing political prisoners. One of the goals of my mission was to gauge the reaction and to measure the level of willingness of the government to implement my recommendations.

And one of my recommendations was the release of prisoners of conscience. I was very clear that it should start right now.

Q:As you were able to meet some of the political prisoners, what is your assessment of their situation?

A: Well, as I said, in my opinion, at the moment, the human rights situation has not improved. The government should address all the human rights situation in the country, it’s not only the question of prisoners of conscience, it is also the situation in frontier Kayin [Karen] state, where there is an armed conflict, which may affect civilian, and also the situation in North of Rakhaing [Arakan] State, concerning the Muslim residents. So that is my general opinion, however, I will like to address standard issues during my presentation to Human Rights council in March. continue
http://www.mizzima.com/edop/interview/1764-challenging-human-rights-in-burma.html

Leave a comment