United Nationalities Federal Council. (UNFC), the newest coalition formed in a 5-day conference last week on the Thai-Burma border

updated 20 february 2013


ျပည္ေထာင္စုျငိမ္းခ်မ္းေရးေဖာ္ေဆာင္ေရးေကာ္မတီႏွင့္ UNFC ပူးတြဲ ထုတ္ျပန္ခ်က္
ျပည္ေထာင္စုျငိမ္းခ်မ္းေရးေဖာ္ေဆာင္ေရးေကာ္မတီႏွင့္ UNFC ပူးတြဲ ထုတ္ျပန္ခ်က္


could well become the only non-Burman ethnic alliance worth talking about, according to some co-founding members.

The Committee for the Emergence of Federal Union (CEFU), the core group that organized the conference, 12-16 February, declared its dissolution following the founding of UNFC. It was formed by three former ceasefire groups: Kachin Independence Organization (KIO), New Mon State Party (NMSP) and Shan State Army (SSA) ‘North’ plus three non-ceasefire groups: Karen National Union (KNU), Karenni National Progressive Party (KNPP) and Chin National Front (CNF) in November.

By contrast, other existing coalitions, notably the National Democratic Front (NDF), formed since 1976, and the Ethnic Nationalities Council (ENC), formed since 2001, are bound to be “history soon”, according to sources who request anonymity.

For the NDF, the reason is all of its member organizations, except for Arakan Liberation Front (ALP), have decided to join the UNFC.

As for the ENC, which has been credited for its outstanding State Constitution Drafting Movement that was launched in 2001, has long since bogged down in its efforts to become a state-based alliance. “With the death of Padoe Ba Thin Sein (Karen leader) who was its staunch supporter in 2008, the coalition soon lost its momentum,” said another source.

Both the NDF and the ENC are expected to discuss their future in the coming months. One of the participants at the UNFC Conference however remarked, “It is not necessary to dissolve these alliances. As the UNFC grows in stature, they will shrink to oblivion all by themselves.”

The Central Executive Committee (CEC) members of the UNFC are:

Gen Mutu Saypo                      Chairman     KNU

Lt Gen Gauri Zau Seng            Vice Chairman #1    KIO

Khun Abel Tweed                    Vice Chairman #2    KNPP

Nai Hongsa aka Nai Hantha      General Secretary    NMSP

Col Hkun Okker                      Joint Secretary #1    PNLO (PaO National Liberation Organization)

Shwe Myo Thant                     Joint Secretary #2    KNPP

Mahn Nyein Maung                 Member         KNU

Dr Laja                                   Member        KIO

Dr Suikhar                              Member        CNF

Bawmwang Laraw                  Member         KNO (Kachin National Organization)

The new alliance has drummed up interest among Burma watchers due to its avowed intention to set up what it calls a “Union Army”.



FIND DOC SAMPLE COLLECTIO UNFC STATEMENTS     http://www.scribd.com/my_document_collections/3213942


United Nationalities Federal Council (Union Burma) UNFC – Statement

United Nationalities Federal Council- UNFC Letter to President U Thein Sein

UNFC- United Nationalities Federal Council – Chairperson Letter 27.august 2011

United Nationalities Federal Council (Union Burma) UNFC Reply to DASSK – Bur


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s