Skip to content

#BURMA #UEC #announces #constituencies where #election to be #postponed

October 13, 2015

UEC announces constituencies where election to be postponed
YANGON–The Union Election Commission (UEC) announced a list of constituencies where elections will be postponed yesterday. The constituencies are located in Kachin, Kayin, Mon and Shan States and in Bago Region. The elections have been postponed under Section 10(F) of the UEC Law.

The announcement said the listed constituencies cannot hold free and fair elections due to unstable regional conditions.

In Kachin State, elections will not be held in the village-tracts of Machanbaw, Sumprabum, Kawnglanghpu, Waingmaw, Chibwe, Hsawlaw, Injangyang, Mansi, Tanai and Shwegu Townships.

In Kayin Sate, the government will not hold elections in the some village-tracts in Hpa-an, Hlinebwe, Phapun, Thantaunggyi, Myawady, Kawkareik and Kyainseikkyi Townships.

In Bago Region, 12 village-tracts in Kyaukkyi Township and 29 wards and village-tracts in Shwekyin Township will not hold elections.

Bawnaw Khee village tract in Bilin Township, Mon State, will also not hold elections.

Moreover, the government will not hold elections in the whole of Hpansan, Hpan Wain, Mongmaw, Napham and Mongla Townships and some village tracts in Muse, Kongyan, Mantong, Mongkhet, Mongyang, Mongyawng, Mongtong and Metmong townships in Shan State. CREDIT ELEVEN MEDIA MYAANMAR

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: