Single visa policy discussed for Cambodia,Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam


ientiane Times

Asia News Network

Tourism ministers from Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam met recently in Ho Chi Minh City to discuss a plan to introduce a single visa policy for tourists entering the five nations.

The proposed move aims to boost tourist arrivals in these countries, whose combined international arrivals in 2012 saw 18-per-cent growth to reach 37 million. The ministers met at the ACMECS conference on the sidelines of the 9th International Travel Expo, which ran from September 12 to 14. Cambodia and Thailand launched a pilot scheme in January that allows tourists who obtain a visa to enter Thailand to also enter Cambodia.


Five Southeast Asian countries, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam, are targeting a double-digit growth rate of international visitors annually by 2015 under the theme “Five Countries One Destination”, according to Hoang Tuan Anh, Minister of Culture, Sport and Tourism.

visa sticker

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s