UWSP/UWSA attends the Shan–Kayah Conference tomorrow

PANGLONG ORG     It is reported that representatives from the United Wa State Party/United Wa State Army (UWSP/UWSA) will attend the Shan–Kayah Trust-building for Peace conference which is due to be held in the coming week at Lashio Motel in Lashio, the second capital of Shan State.

“We have invited armed groups and political parties totaling 25 organizations to attend the Shan–Kayah Conference. So far, we have received most of the representative names from many organizations already; including two representatives from the UWSP/UWSA” said Sai Leik, an organizing team committee and spoke person to the conference.



To the coming Shan–Kayah Trust-building for Peace conference on March 20 – 22, Xiao Sankun deputy director of the Exterior Affairs and Ta Yi Paleuk, a son of a famous Wa prince Ja Tae, were selected by the UWSP/UWSA, as representatives for the conference, said a source from the organizing committee.

Meanwhile, Restoration Council of Shan State sources say it will be represented by Sai Kawng and Oon Kherh.

“Political parties, armed groups and civil society organizations and all concerned are invited; not a single to be left out, we have carefully compiled the list. We do hope all will attend the conference,” said Sai Leik.

Maj Zaw Lwin, the deputy secretary 1 of the Kayan New Land Party (KNLP), and a deputy leading organizer of the conference, confirms that among the 25 organizations, includes Kayah political parties, armed groups and 8 civil society organizations.

The detailed list of the invited organizations is as follows:

  1. Lahu National Development Party (LNDP)
  2. Kokang Democracy and Unity Party (KDUP)
  3. Shan State Kokang Democratic Party (SSKDP)
  4. Wa National Unity Party (WNUP)
  5. Wa Democratic Party (WDP)
  6. Ta-ang (Palaung) National Party (TNP)
  7. Shan Nationalities Democratic Party (SNDP)
  8. Shan Nationalities League for Democracy (SNDP)
  9. Danu National Democracy Party (DNDP)
  10. Inn National Development Party (INDP)
  11. Pa-O National Organization (PNO)
  12. United Wa State Party (UWSP)
  13. National Democratic Alliance Army (NDAA)
  14. Shan State Progress Party (SSPP)
  15. Restoration Council of Shan State (RCSS)
  16. PaO National Liberation Organization (PNLO)
  17. Kayan National Party (KNP)
  18. Kayan New Land Party (KNLP)
  19. Karenni Nationalities People’s Liberation Front (KNPLF)
  20. Karenni National Solidarity Organization (KNSO)
  21. Karenni National Progress Party (KNPP)
  22. Karenni National Progress and Development Party (KNPDP)
  23. Kayan National Guard (KNG)
  24. Shan State Nationalities People’s Liberation Organization (SSNPLO)
  25. Karenni National Democratic Party (KNDP)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s