Assistance Association for Political Prisoners Breaking News – for immediate release 30 December 2008

Today, the National League for Democracy (NLD) party held a ceremony to mark the 61st anniversary of Burma Independence Day at their headquarters. After the event, nine NLD Youth members marched from NLD headquarters to Sanchaung Township, Rangoon, holding photographs and placards with Daw Aung San Suu Kyi’s image. They called for the release of all political prisoners, and demanded national reconciliation.
When they arrived at the public square in Sanchaung Township, they were arrested by members of the Swan Arr Shin (People’s Power Force) the regime’s hired thugs, and brutally beaten. Their whereabouts are now unknown.
The nine are:
Tun Tun Win (from Sanchaung Township), Htet Htet Oo Way (from Shwepyithar Township), Ye Ni Oo, Pyae Pyae, Aung Phyo Wai, Min Thein, Win Myint Maung (aka) Pe Pyoat, Kaung Htet Naing, and Thet Maung Tun.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s